Bar Council appoints crime QC as second non-London chairman in three years

Avatar photo

By Katie King on

And commercial rookie is new Young Bar chief


Bristol-based criminal silk Andrew Langdon QC is the new head of the Bar Council for 2017.

The London-centric profession that is the bar has been almost entirely represented by chairmen living in the capital for the last 20 years. However, 2015’s appointee Alistair McDonald QC was based in Leeds, and now its the turn of west country lad Langdon to take the reins.

Most recent Bar Council chairmen

Year Chairman
1995 The Rt Hon the Lord Goldsmith QC
1998 The Rt Hon Lady Justice Hallett DBE
1999 Lord Brennan of Bibury QC
2001 Roy Amlot QC
2003 Matthias Kelly QC
2004 The Hon Mr Justice Irwin
2006 Stephen Hockman QC
2007 The Rt Hon Lord Justice Vos
2008 Timothy Dutton CBE QC
2009 Desmond Browne QC
2010 The Hon Mr Justice Green
2012 Michael Todd QC
2013 Mrs Justice McGowan
2014 Nicholas Lavender QC
2015 Alistair McDonald QC
2016 Chantal-Aimée Doerries QC

A tenant at Guildhall Chambers, Langdon (pictured in his rugged Twitter photo below) was educated at Bristol University and is now a leading criminal law specialist. He was recently involved in the high-profile murder case of Becky Watts, representing defendant Shauna Hoare.


Langdon will be replacing commercial barrister Chantal-Aimée Doerries QC as chairman of the bar. Doerries was the third woman ever to take this role, her female predecessors being Lady Justice Hallett and Mrs Justice McGowan.

Over at the Young Barristers’ Committee, former head Louisa Nye — a property law expert at Landmark Chambers — will be replaced by commercial lawyer Duncan McCombe (pictured below).


The young Cambridge-educated barrister works alongside the likes of University Challenge legend and pupil Ted Loveday and Brexit legal challenge barrister Dominic Chambers QC at Maitland Chambers.

He was involved in the recent Supreme Court case of FHR European Ventures LLP v Cedar Capital Partners, which trusts students may recall as the judgment that shaped the law on bribes and secret commissions.